How To Become An Appraiser
Questions and Answers
The approved testing center for KREAB is PSI. A candidate handbook can be downloaded from the testing center website at PSI Exams. KY APP Candidate Information Bulletin
To register for an examination contact the KREAB at (859) 623-1658 or email Angie.Thomas@ky.gov.
Renewal notices with renewal processing instructions will be mailed at the end of April.
Certified general real property appraisers, certified residential real property appraisers, licensed real property appraisers, and associate real property appraisers shall:
(1) Complete fourteen (14) hours of approved continuing education each license year; and
(2) Furnish the board with proof of compliance.
All credential holders shall successfully complete the seven (7) hour National USPAP Update course, or its equivalent, between January 1 and May 15 of each even numbered year.
Kentucky Appraiser License
- Complete the Application for License/Certification and return it to the Kentucky Real Estate Appraisers Board. Include official transcripts, academic records, completion certificates, etc. all to verify education hours.
- All applications, including Associate must be approved by the Real Estate Appraisers Board. Associate education must have been obtained in the five year period immediately preceding application.
- An initial applicant for a Kentucky real property appraisal credential must complete the requirement in 324A.100 for an FBI Fingerprint Background Check. FEE CHANGE:
Any requests received on or before January 30, 2015 with the current fee ($36.50) will be processed as normal. Requests received after January 30, 2015 with the current fee ($36.50) will be returned to sender. Requests received with the revised fee ($34.75) will be accepted anytime, however the processing will be delayed until after the fee change.
- Incomplete applications, will be returned to the applicant noting what additional information is needed.
- Education is a pre-requisite to take the examination, therefore the application must be approved prior to anyone being seated for the examination.
- Once education requirements are fulfilled an Examination Registration Form will be sent to you upon written request.
Please be advised that per the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) guidelines, exam results are only good for 24 months. Once you have passed an appraiser examination, you must make application and obtain a license/certification within 24 months.
Note: Should you exceed the 24 month period, you will be required to retake and pass the appropriate examination.
Reciprocity With Other States - KRS 324A.075
If, in the determination by the board, another state is deemed to have substantially equivalent or greater certification or licensure requirements for real property appraisers, an applicant who is certified or licensed under the laws of another state seeking to practice in this state shall apply to obtain a certificate as a state certified or licensed real property appraiser in this state upon terms and conditions determined by the board.
- If you are applying for a Kentucky Certified General or Residential Real Property Appraiser credential from a State in which you are in good standing with that State appraisers regulatory agency, and if that State appraiser regulatory agency is in good standing with the ASC, and has adopted the most current AQB criteria, you will be required to complete application pages 2-5, and the applicable affidavit page 6, 7, or 8 for the credential you are requesting from Kentucky of the License/Certification Application and mail it to the Kentucky Real Estate Appraisers Board.
- The credential you request from Kentucky must be the same as you hold in the reciprocal State.
- Reciprocity applicants are not expected to submit experience logs or proof of education completion to the KREAB.
Reciprocity appraisers will be expected to comply with Kentucky's yearly Continuing Education Requirements:
Revised Language in 201 KAR 30:125
The revised language within regulation 201 KAR 30:125 requires all Kentucky Licensed/Certified Appraisers shall complete the 7-Hour National USPAP Course, or its equivalent approved by the AQB, between January 1st and May 15th of each even number year (example 2014, 2016, 2018, etc.).
The language shall allow Kentucky Licensed and Certified Appraisers to receive credit for the AQB approved 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course if the course is completed prior to January 1 of an even numbered year and provided the course includes the USPAP Update material that will be effective January 1 of the even numbered year following the course completion date.
The revised rule shall apply to “all” Kentucky certified and licensed appraisers, 1) regardless of when a credential was first received, 2) regardless of whether the certificate holder is a Kentucky resident, 3) whether the credential was received by reciprocity from another State, or 4) regardless of when a Kentucky credential holder last completed the 15-hour USPAP Course or the 7-Hour USPAP Update Course.*
*Q: Will continuing education credit be awarded for completion of the current 7-Hour Update Course that included the 2012-2013 USPAP, if the completion date was after June 30, 2013, but before the 2014-2015 revised course is available?
A: Yes. The above course will be recognized for 7 of the 14 hours of required KREAB continuing education. But, a Kentucky licensed or certified appraiser who completed the course must also complete the 7-Hour Update that will include the 2014-2015 USPAP revisions prior to May 15, 2014.
Therefore, a Kentucky licensed or certified appraiser can be awarded 14 hours of Kentucky continuing education for successfully completing the two USPAP courses listed above during the 2014-2015 renewal period.
Temporary Appraisal Licenses & Certificates - 201 KAR 30:120
- Complete the KREAB Temporary Permit Application and mail it to the Kentucky Real Estate Appraisers Board.
- If the temporary assignment has one client with multiple subject properties a letter of engagement must be included with the application. If a letter of engagement is not included with the application, a $150.00 fee will be charge for each subject property.